What Do We Do?

Many people wonder “What are the Executive, Staff, and Committees of our Union doing?” The below list shows you some of the breadth of the activities of the UTGSU. We encourage all graduate students to get involved! The Executive will also be responding to the UTGSU Council and our membership throughout the year, creating campaigns, responding to the Administration, and fighting, as always, to defend graduate students.


2014/2015 Committees

Open-Membership Committees:

Each year, the UTGSU Executive strikes the committees of the Union. Each committee works on a number of long-term and more immediate issues that have been identified as needing particular emphasis. All members of the UTGSU are welcome and encouraged to become active with these 2014/2015 Committees, listed below.

Civics Committee
Chair: Susanne Waldorf
Vice-Chair: Natasha Jamal

Policy and Operations Committee
Chair: Nickie Van Lier
Vice-Chair: Rajeev Acharya (General Member)
Other Executive Members: Soaleha Shams

Equity & Advocacy Committee
Chair: Leah Bender
Vice-Chair: Walter Callaghan
Other Executive Members: Natasha Jamal

Environmental Justice & Sustainability (EJS) Committee
Chair: Susanne Waldorf
Vice-Chair: Nickie Van Lier
Other Executive Members: Natasha Jamal

Research, Education & Governance (REG) Committee
Chair: Soaleha Shams
Vice-Chair: Walter Callaghan
Other Executive Members: Hussain Masoom, Leah Bender

Graduate Student Mental Health ad hoc Committee
Chair: Caroline Cormier (General Member) (mentalhealth@utgsu.ca)
Executive Members: Walter Callaghan, Soaleha Shams

Boycott, Divestment & Sanctions ad hoc Committee
Chair: Susanne Waldorf

Litigation ad hoc Committee
Acting Chair: Walter Callaghan


Set-Membership Committees

Periodically throughout the year, the General Council strikes committees as mandated by the By-laws and Policies to fulfill specific functions related to the operations of the Union. Each committee works on a specific task that have been identified as needing annual work and implementation.

Chair: Soaleha Shams
Vice-Chair: Hussain Masoom
Other Members: Lily Jackson (Div1), Hélène Desgagnés (Div2), Andrew Fisher (Div3), Jessica Arsenault (Div4)
Staff: Carol Ramm (Finance Administrator)


Sub-Committees of the Executive Committee

Human Resources
Chair: Nickie Van Lier
Other Executive Members: Hussain Masoom, Soaleha Shams

Building Management
Chair: Nickie Van Lier
Other Executive Members: Leah Bender, Walter Callaghan
Staff: Shain Dhalla, Carol Ramm



International Students’ Caucus
Chair: Yan Wang (General Member) (isc@utgsu.ca)
Executive Liaison: Leah Bender

Queer Caucus
Chair: Jayesh (General Member) (queer@utgsu.ca)
Executive Liaison: Susanne Waldorf
Staff: Michelle St-Amour

Race & Ethnicity Caucus
Chair: Niyosha (General Member) (rec@utgsu.ca)
Executive Liaison: Soaleha Shams

Women & Trans* People Caucus
Chair: To Be Elected
Executive Liaison: Soaleha Shams
Staff: Michelle St-Amour


Member-Supported Organizations

Allied Organizations

University of Toronto Academic and Governing Bodies

University of Toronto Student Services and External Committees